Nish Nush logo

Vegan vs Vegetarian

Vegan vs Vegetarian

Plant-based diets are the cornerstone of vegan and vegetarian diets. Veganism, however, has more restrictions than vegetarianism. Vegetarians can eat their favorite foods without worrying about what is in them, depending on the type of diet they take on.

For example, a lacto-ovo-vegetarian can eat brownies, yogurt, cheese pizza, whole-milk lattes, scrambled eggs & veggie burritos. In contrast, a vegan would require a brownie recipe without eggs, soymilk or nut milk latte, and a tempeh or tofu scramble in place of eggs.

This article explores the distinction between vegan and vegetarian diets and their uniqueness. along with some examples of what people go to vegetarian restaurants in NYC to eat.

Vegetarian vs Vegan Definition

A vegan or a vegetarian does not consume meat. The vegan diet avoids all animal products, including eggs, dairy and sometimes inedible animal-based products, like leather & wool.

In contrast, vegetarians eat eggs and dairy. Simply put, vegetarianism is seen as more of a diet while veganism is seen as more of a lifestyle. Health reasons, religious or political beliefs or their diet’s reported health benefits led vegetarians. Vegans typically have stronger political ideas about their diet, with some believing animals need protection under the same laws as people are.

The Differences Include:

Vegan Vegetarian
Introduction: Vegans seek to eliminate all animal products from their diets, clothing, and lifestyles. They don’t consume or use animal products. Vegetarians exclude meat (including game, slaughter by-products, fish, shellfish, and other sea animals). Some diets also exclude eggs.
Diet: A vegan does not consume meat, eggs, milk, honey, dairy products, or other animal products. Vegetarians can consume dairy products and eggs.
Products: Use no animal-derived products, such as fur, leather, wool. Animal testing is not acceptable. Although vegetarians do not eat meat, they often use animal products, such as fur, leather, and wool.

Vegan vs. Vegetarian Diet

History suggests vegetarian diets have existed as far back as 700 BC. Individuals practice each type for different reasons, and several types are available. The reasons include ethics, environmentalism & religion.

Vegan diets emerged more recently but have attracted more attention.

Vegan vs Vegetarian Diet

What is a Vegan Diet?

You can consider veganism as the purest form of vegetarianism. Veganism is more than just a diet. Vegan society says,

  • “It’s a philosophy and way of living which seeks to exclude—as far as is possible and practicable — all forms of exploitation of, and cruelty to, animals for food, clothing or any other purpose.”
  • By extension, encourage the development and use of animal-free substitutes to benefit humans, animals, and the environment.

In dietary terms, it denotes the practice of dispensing with all products derived wholly or partly from animals. “One cannot live a vegan lifestyle ‘sometimes.’ Either you’re a vegan, or you’re not.”

The vegan diet excludes animal flesh and dairy, eggs, and other products derived from animals. They include:

  • Shellac
  • Albumin
  • Whey
  • Casein
  • Some forms of vitamin D3
  • Gelatin
  • Honey
  • Carmine
  • Pepsin

Similar reasons often motivate vegans vs. vegetarians to avoid eating animal products. However, their opinions on whether animal products are acceptable differ.

For example, vegetarians and vegans may abstain from eating meat for environmental or health reasons. The vegan lifestyle also excludes all animal products, as they believe this is the most harmful to their health and the environment.

Vegans forgo dairy and eggs to prevent animal exploitation – products that many vegetarians do not worry about consuming.

How About a Vegetarian Diet? What is it?

In terms of ethics, vegetarians oppose animal killing for food. Yet, they consider animal by-products such as milk and eggs acceptable, as long as they live in satisfactory conditions.

On the other hand, vegans believe animals should be free from human use, whether for food, clothing, science or entertainment. They, therefore, avoid all animal by-products, despite how they live.

A vegetarian diet contains a variety of vegetables, fruits, grains, pulses, nuts & seeds. Depending on your diet, dairy, honey & eggs can be in too. Vegetarians fall into one of the following categories:

  • Lacto-Ovo vegetarians–vegetarians who consume dairy products and eggs but do not consume any animal flesh
  • Lacto vegetarians–vegetarians who do not consume meat, eggs or dairy products
  • Ovo vegetarians–vegetarians who eat only eggs and avoid any animal products

If you’re considering a vegan diet or a vegetarian lifestyle, be sure to take advantage of the resources that are available to you. The USDA, FDA, CDC & many other health organizations provide consumers with helpful, accurate information about vegan vs. vegetarian diets.

Think about how each diet will fit into if you’re deciding which diet to start. Be kind to yourself if you slip into old eating habits from time to time. Change takes time, commitment, and self-trust. You’ll soon be reaping the benefits of eating more plants. Or you can order with us for ease, right?